Luc Keustermans awarded KWR’s seventh Honorary Fellowship for his contribution to Flemish - Dutch water research

In 2021, KWR proudly awarded the prestigious Honorary Fellowship to Luc Keustermans. The honorary title could only be awarded in 2023, because the corona pandemic at the time of the award did not make this possible. Keustermans will receive the KWR Honorary Fellowship for his long-term commitment and drive to lay the foundation for Flemish-Dutch collaboration in applied water research. Dragan Savic, director of KWR, presented the award to Keustermans on June 8 during the festival in honor of 40 years of joint water research in the Netherlands and Flanders.

An outstanding contribution to KWR

As Technical Director of the Flemish De Watergroep from 2002 until 2018 and from 2018 until his retirement as Director of Strategic Projects, Keustermans was pivotal in developing and strengthening the collaboration with KWR and the joint water research programme. On 1 May 2016, De Watergroep joined the collaborative research programme BTO and became the first international shareholder of KWH, the holding of which KWR is a 100% daughter. For KWR and its shareholders, the Flemish collaboration resulted in an expanded home base for research and application and new cooperations with high-quality Flemish research partners.

Keustermans: ‘When you are on your own and have limited resources to set up your research programmes, you can better work together. It allows you to develop more innovative solutions faster. I am honoured to receive the award: the most beautiful gift is a gift you do not expect.’


Video – 03:03
Luc Keustermans onderscheiden met KWR’s zevende Honorary Fellowship

KWR Honorary Fellowship

Since 2015, KWR has awarded an Honorary Fellowship annually to individuals who contribute to the research community and society. These individuals include managers, supervisors or proprietors within KWR’s national and international network. Luc Keusternans is the seventh recipient of the prestigious Honorary Fellow award, following Martien den Blanken (2015), Joan Rose (2016), Willy Verstraete (2017), Ad van Wijk (2018), Harry Seah (2019) and Marion Koopmans (2020).

An Honorary Fellow is appointed for life. An Honorary Fellow with the other Honorary Fellows constitutes a source of knowledge, expertise, and experience that supports the ambition and collective values that KWR upholds.