Scientific Advisory Council

Our Scientific Advisory Council consists of the following members:

Gerard Beenker ir. Gerard Beenker
Innovation Lab, Eindhoven University of Technology.
Gerard Beenker has been working at the Innovation Lab of the Eindhoven University of Technology since 1 September 2014, where he is involved in Innovation Strategy and Partnerships. His focus is primarily on the application of High-Tech in the Agrofood sector (a crossover between the HTSM (High Tech Systems and Materials), AgriFood, Horticulture and Raw Materials Top Sectors). He is one of the members of the Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research (NWO) Permanent Committee for Large-scale Scientific Infrastructure.Prior to this he had a career in the high-tech industry. In 1980 started work as a Mathematical Engineer at the Philips Physical Laboratory, where he fulfilled a number of management roles from October 1986 onwards. In January 1999 Beenker was appointed Senior Vice President of Philips Research with responsibility for the Philips Semiconductors research programme. When Philips Semiconductors changed to NXP in 2006 he transformed part of Philips Research into NXP Research. He headed up this organisation until November 2008. Following this he was appointed Scientific Director at NXP and was responsible for external relations with universities, government agencies and other businesses. In that role he was, amongst other things, a member of the Confederation of Industry and Employers (VNO-NCW) Technology group, member of the Roadmap Team for the HTSM Top Sector and member of the Technology Science Foundation (STW) Advisory Council. He fulfilled this role until July 2014.
Cees-Buisman-Pic Prof. dr. ir. C.J.N. Buisman
Scientific Director, Wetsus Centre of Excellence for Sustainable Water Technology. Cees J.N. Buisman Prof. J.N. Buisman was formerly director at Paques bv, technology & business development. Currently he combines his function as scientific director of Wetsus/TTIW with a professorship in biological recovery and reuse technology in the Environmental Technology department of Wageningen University. Prof. Buisman’s research focuses on new technologies for sustainable water and energy solutions, based on biological and chemical disciplines. He specializes in the biological transfer of anorganic compounds with sulphur, nitrogen and metals through natural bacteria.
Marion Koopmans, PhD
Marion Koopmans (DVM) has completed her training in Veterinary Medicine at the Utrecht University, Veterinary Faculty. She worked as associate professor at the same Faculty to become a specialist in Large Animal Internal Medicine and Nutrition. In parallel, she did a PhD in Veterinary Sciences (Virology; 1990), studying novel enteric viruses and their importance as pathogens for cattle. Koopmans continued to study enteric viruses during a fellowship and as visiting scientist at the Centers for Disease Control from 1991 until 1994, and returned to The Netherlands to become section chief of the enteric virus group at the National Institute of Public Health and the Environment (RIVM). She is coordinator of a European research and surveillance network on enteric viruses, and since 2000 holds the chair of the Virology division of the Diagnostic Laboratory for Infectious Diseases at RIVM. Her responsibilities include reference diagnostics, syndromic surveillance and emergency preparedness for viral diseases, including research aimed at improving the response capacity of a public health lab.In 2006 she was appointed as professor of Public Health Virology at the Erasmus University in Rotterdam. In 2014 Koopmans accepted the position of Head of department of Viroscience at Erasmus MC, Rotterdam. Her research interests include enteric viruses, food-borne infections, emerging disease preparedness, and infections at the human-animal interface, with a particular focus on unraveling mechanisms underlying possible emergence of new health threats and optimizing the early detection and response. She has authored over 300 papers in peer reviewed journals. Juliette Legler, ERT
Lid, Hoogleraar Toxicologie en hoofd van de afdeling Toxicologie van het Institute for Risk Assessment Sciences (IRAS), Faculteit Diergeneeskunde, Universiteit Utrecht) / Juliette Legler, PhD, ERT (member, Professor of Toxicology and Environmental Health, Chair of Toxicology, Institute for Risk Assessment Sciences (IRAS), Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, Utrecht University. Zoran Kapelan
Lid, voorzitter en hoogleraar stedelijke waterinfrastructuur binnen de afdeling Waterbeheer, Technische Universiteit Delft) / Zoran Kapelan, PhD (member, Chair and Professor of Urban Water Infrastructure within the Department of Water Management, Technical University Delft.
Prof. Gonzalo Delacámara
Lid, Senior Research Fellow en coördinator van de afdeling Economische Water Analyse bij IMDEA Water, Madrid, Spanje) / Gonzalo Delacámara, PhD (member, Senior Research Fellow and Coordinator of the Department of Economic Analysis of Water at IMDEA Water Foundation, Madrid, Spain.